Sun and Moon

When I first met him there was a daisy tattooed on his neck. It screamed the beauty that I wish I could emit. He told me, tan hands wrapping around mine, that “the sun and the moon are one in perfect balance. Those that destroy have been destroyed in the past.”

He would whisper in my ear the secrets of the light. The roses swooned for him, the clouds bowed to him with familiarity. The waves took him in their arms with similar simplicity.

When his tattoo turned to the sun I lost the need for him. His body took in the light that I had been lacking and my dependency grew on my skin like wildflowers. My need for him was flourishing, he took in the moon of my soul like I was everything his lungs needed and more.

Smiling came as easily as the breeze, stay please.

The moon enveloped the sun and I lost the light. I was dripping with the loss of what I had formed into what i thought of as my  planet. The light underneath my skin was only him. The tattoos on my skin became him. I was aching with the loss of what cocooned into him. He became the butterfly, I was simply the skin of forgotten promise.

Oh please don’t leave.

But he did. The sky was lost in the grass, the clouds drooped into the dirt.

The sky became you and gray has never looked so bright.

There was a daisy tattooed on my neck the first time he met me. It screamed the beauty he wished he could emit. I told him, tan hands wrapped around his, that “the sun and the moon are one in perfect balance. Those that destroy have been destroyed in the past.

By: Taylor Greenwood

Skip to toolbar